Heavy Rotation: April 2017

Once again, it’s that time of month for me to post the playlist from Spotify featuring my most-played songs from April. I love talking music and getting recommendations, so feel free to leave your suggestions!

Features this month:

Jens Lekman

I’ve been listening to Jens Lekman since my early years of college, and have always loved the contrast of his pop melodies contrasted with the melancholy of his lyrics. The song on April’s Heavy Rotation playlist comes from February 2017’s Life Will See You Now. I’m obsessed with “What’s That Perfume That You Wear.” My sentiment likely stems from the fact that I’m so deep into essential oils at this point in my life. Any song that can use vetiver in context makes me giddy… But it’s pretty damn catchy as well, and whenever it comes on I can’t help but dance a little bit.

The video is also particularly beautiful and filled with melancholy:

Really, though, the entirety of Life Will See You Now is Jens at his finest and I’m sure I’ll be listening to the entire album regularly for the rest of the year or longer.

Aimee Mann

“Goose Snow Cone” was the first single from Aimee Mann’s ninth solo album Mental Illness and was released in conjunction with the January 2017 announcement of the album. The album was released independently on March 31, 2017. In an interview with Elle, Aimee said this song was inspired by a photo of a friend’s cat which she received while on tour in Ireland:

I was on tour in Ireland, and it was snowing and really miserable. I was on Instagram and I saw a picture of my friend’s cat. The cat’s name is Goose. [She] was looking up at the camera with this plaintive expression, and she’s got a little white face, and she just looked like a little snow cone. It was the saddest expression and it made me feel really homesick. I missed this cat and I’d been on tour for a while, and it was feeling really lonely and snowy and cold and bleak.

Interview with Melissa Locker, Elle Magazine

Sylvan Esso

It’s been a few years since we first heard from North Carolina based Sylvan Esso, whose debut album reached number 39 on the Billboard 200 in 2014.

The single “Radio” came out in September 2016, but “The Glow” came out on the new album What Now, released April 28, 2017. Both songs from the new album appear on this month’s playlist.

If this is your first experience with Sylvan Esso, you may want to go back and listen to the group’s eponymous debut album on Partisan Records, released in May 2014. “Coffee” is still one of my favorite songs from 2014.

There are several songs on this month’s playlist that come from new records:

  • “Slip Away” from Perfume Genius new record Go Ahead
  • A track from Spoon‘s new album Hot Thoughts
  • My favorite track from David Bazan‘s new album: Care
  • A single from the long-awaited fifth studio album from Broken Social Scene (the first new recording in 7 years)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: